Apart from my absolute favourite, which is of course, Schwarzwälder Kirschtorte, I am fond of baking lots of Austrian and German cakes and pastries from my trusty Gretel Beer recipe book.

Gretel Beer was a wartime refugee from Austria and became a highly successful writer of cookery books, best known for her Classic Austrian Cooking, first published in 1954 to show British families how to make the most of their ingredients during post-war austerity.

So whenever I fancy something sweet and stodgy with a real continental flavour, I reach for my precious copy of Austrian Cooking. These are my take on Gretel’s apple slices.

gretel-beer-1

 

 

Leave a Reply

